objectuser.blog(brain)

objectuser.getBlog().contains(anything)

  • a place for thoughts, explanations, etc.

    this is just a place to write things out so I can make sure i understand them, keep track of them, and to use them again as links, etc.
  • Subscribe

Step Back and Look Hard

Posted by objectuser on March 21, 2010

I have some really smart developers on my project.  They keep up to date with the latest best practices, try to apply them and often improve the product as a result.

However, sometimes things don’t go as planned.  I’ve recently been fixing some very significant defects in our software because developers, while applying best practices and refactoring to simpler designs, missed the picture of how the software had to work.

I’m completely in favor of adopting best practices recognized by the industry as it makes sense for the project.  I also think continuous refactoring is necessary in order to keep the product maintainable.

However, it’s always necessary to understand the context of the software you’re changing.  Complete unit testing is simply not possible.  It’s just impossible to know you have complete coverage.  So use your brain, know what’s going on, and make sure what you’re doing makes sense.

One Response to “Step Back and Look Hard”

  1. Anton Novopashin said

    I have same problems with my team. This is common problem in many teams.
    Many developers doesn’t understand that they do.

Leave a comment