objectuser.blog(brain)

objectuser.getBlog().contains(anything)

  • a place for thoughts, explanations, etc.

    this is just a place to write things out so I can make sure i understand them, keep track of them, and to use them again as links, etc.
  • Subscribe

$Nothing < $Something

Posted by objectuser on March 19, 2011

I’ve done quite a bit of performance tuning in my career.  When people ask me about guiding prinicpals, the first one I give is always:

Nothing is faster than something.  So do as much nothing as you can.

After watching some GWT presentations, the Google guys were saying something similar, though I think less general and certainly with less flair. 😉

The fastest code is the code you never run.

I think this one principle is so useful, so generally applicable, that you can go far with just this one tool in your belt.

 

Leave a comment